Former NJCAA Men's Basketball All-Americans Playing Major Roles in NCAA

The 2011-12 NCAA all-conference teams featured 16 former NJCAA men’s basketball All-Americans. The list includes four first team all-conference selections, four second team selections and four individual award winners.

The Marquette Golden Eagles continued to succeed this season behind former NJCAA talent. Former Howard College (Texas) forward Jae Crowder was tabbed Big East Player of the Year and was a first team all-conference selection alongside senior guard Darius Johnson-Odom (right) out of Hutchinson CC (Kan.). Both players ranked in the Top 10 in the Big East in scoring with Crowder averaging 17.4 points per game and Johnson-Odom averaging 18.5 points, the second most in the conference.

Taking a page out of Marquette’s book, Wichita State anchored their roster this season behind three former NJCAA student-athletes. Carl Hall, a former forward at Northwest Florida State College, was named Newcomer of the Year by the Missouri Valley Conference and was a member of the conference’s All-Newcomer Team. Out of North Platte CC (Neb.), senior guard Joe Ragland (below) was a first team All-MVC selection. Former Northern Oklahoma College-Enid forward Ben Smith was also recognized by the MVC, making the All-Defensive Team.

Michael Glover, a senior forward out of College of Eastern Utah, was named first team all-conference by the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference for his efforts at Iona this season. Glover ranked second in the conference in both scoring and rebounding with 18.5 points and 9.0 boards per game. Glover also boasted a 64.4 field goal percentage, the best in the MAAC.

Former Salt Lake CC (Utah) forward Alfonzo Hubbard, now a junior at Utah Valley State, earned Sixth Man of the Year in the Great West Conference. Hubbard averaged 7.0 points and 4.2 rebounds a game this season with the Wolverines. The GWC also included Hubbard on their All-Newcomer Team.

Four other former NJCAA All-Americans earned second team all-conference honors for the 2011-12 season. Baylor junior guard Pierre Jackson, the 2010-11 NJCAA Division I Player of the Year out of College of Southern Idaho, was named second team All-Big 12 and was a member of the conference’s All-Rookie Team. Joining Jackson as a second team All-Big 12 selection was Missouri senior forward Ricardo Ratliffe out of College of Central Florida. UCLA senior guard Lazeric Jones was selected second team All-PAC 12 out of John A. Logan College (Ill.), while former Southwestern Christian College (Texas) guard Devon Lamb earned second team All-Southland Conference honors for his performance at Lamar.

Making recognizable impacts on their respective NCAA teams this season were three former NJCAA All-Americans. Illinois State junior guard Tyler Brown from Marshalltown CC (Iowa) earned a spot on the MVC All-Newcomer Team, while former Mountain View College (Texas) guard Gary Talton was named to the Horizon League All-Newcomer Team for his play at UI-Chicago. Former Iowa Central CC forward Terell Parks, now a junior at Western Illinois, was designated to the Horizon League’s All-Newcomer Team and was an honorable mention all-conference selection as well.

Joining Parks as former NJCAA All-Americans that didn’t break into the top two all-conference teams were former John A. Logan forward Jesse Perry and J.R. Cadot, a guard out of Sheridan College (Wyo.). Perry, a senior at Arizona, was named honorable mention All-PAC 12 and Cadot earned third team All-Mountain West Conference for his play with TCU this season.

Photos Courtesy of Marquette University Athletic Dept. and Wichita State University Athletic Dept.




NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?