Women's Cross Country & Half Marathon

Iowa Central claims seventh DI cross country title


Garden City, KS – Iowa Central broke the all-time record for most NJCAA DI Women’s Cross Country National Championships as the Tritons pulled away for the 2018 title at the Buffalo Dunes Golf Course. The championship is the second straight for Iowa Central.

El Paso’s (TX) freshman standout Everlyn Kemboi took home the individual title with a time of 18:17.09, winning the championship by over 26 seconds. El Paso finished second overall as a team with 70 points, the program’s best finish since its national title performance in 2014.

Southern Idaho boasted a third-place finish behind a pair of top-10 individual finishers. Cowley (KS) and South Plains (TX) rounded out the top five.

  • The victory for Iowa Central broke a tie with Ricks (ID) who claimed six consecutive DI titles from 1996-2001.
  • The Tritons previously won consecutive championships from 2007-08 and 2011-13.
  • Iowa Central was led by three dominant performances as Lilian Busienei came in third, followed by Marion Bartilol in fourth and Florance Uwajeneza in sixth.
  • Bartilol’s sophomore experience helped the Kenyan native improve on her fifth-place finish from a year ago.
  • Kemboi’s championship performance is just the second in program history, joining Florence Ngetich from 2010.
  • Kemboi was the leader through each split after getting out to the fastest start of any individual with a 5:41.6 opening mile.
  • In just its second year of competition since disbanding the program in 1999, Southern Idaho finished third after a fourth-place showing in 2017.
  • Southern Idaho’s Bailey Wall and Kami Weathers finished 7th and 8th, respectively, separated by just three seconds.
  • Freshman Gladys Jemaiyo of South Plains (TX) finished second overall with a time of 18:43.79.
  • Four of the top five finishers were freshman, the most since 2015.
  • Pima’s (AZ) Katherine Bruno and Pratt’s (KS) Aminata Kenyawani rounded out the individual top-10 finishers.
  • Overall, 294 individual runners competed and a total of 38 programs placed at the championships on Saturday.
  • Central Arizona claimed the 2018 NJCAA DI Men's Cross Country National Championship.


NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?