Ramet's late strike lifts Tyler to third DI title


Melbourne, FL – Tyler (TX) avenged last year's title game defeat with a 1-0 victory over ASA Brooklyn (NY) in the 2017 NJCAA DI Women's Soccer Championship match. The victory is the Apaches third title and first since 2011.

With under four minutes to play in regulation, Claire Ramet knocked home the game-winning goal to end sixth-seeded ASA's surprise run to the championship. Ramet was named to the All-Tournament team for her heroics.

The Apaches allowed just two goals in their four games throughout the tournament including a pair of shutouts against the team's final two opponents. For her efforts in net for Tyler, Andrea Neves was named the Most Valuable Defensive Player. Fellow teammate Hitomi Konno was named Most Valuable Offensive Player while head coach Corey Rose was named Coach of the Tournament.

  • The Apaches are now 3-2 all-time in national championship matches with all five appearances coming within the last nine years.
  • Konno, a midfielder, tallied three goals throughout the tournament to earn offensive honors.
  • Tyler concluded the 2017 season on a nine match win streak to finish their championship campaign at 24-1-0.
  • ASA made a historic run through the tournament, becoming the first six seed to reach the finals dating back to 2000.
  • The Avengers placed three players on the All-Tournament Team- Kaylane Araujo, Sara Suarez Quevedo, and Tamara Queiroz.
  • Quieroz tallied four goals in the tournament, including a pair in Friday's semifinal victory.
  • Tournament host Eastern Florida State was awarded two All-Tournament Team selections in Nathali Da Silva and Katie Lockwood.
  • Top-seeded Phoenix placed two players on the All-tournament team- Laura Figueroa and Eliudth Gonzalez.
  • The Apaches join their male counterparts to sweep the 2017 men's and women's soccer titles which the programs also accomplished in 2009.


NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?