Monroe tops Harford for sixth straight undefeated title


Rochester, NY –An unprecedented sixth national championship trophy went home with Monroe (NY) on Sunday as the Tribunes topped Harford (MD) 20-13 in the 2018 NJCAA Women's Lacrosse National Championship. Monroe wrapped up the season at 12-0 to give the Tribunes 95 consecutive victories.

With the title, Monroe has now won eight of the last nine women's lacrosse championships and has played in the last 10 title games. Harford finished the season at 11-4 after making its second national championship game appearance.

The Tribunes built a 4-0 lead over the Fighting Owls to open up the title bout. Harford stayed within striking distance after Nina Urban's goal at the 7:03 mark of the first half pulled the Fighting Owls within one, 8-7. Two quick goals near the end of the half gave Monroe a 10-7 lead at intermission.

Monroe continued its run to start the second half with seven straight goals to extend its advantage. Brittany Chamberlain sparked the run with four goals of her own to help the Tribunes pull away. Harford continued to battle with four goals in a 2:10 span, but the Tribunes held on for the title.

  • Chamberlain was awarded the Offensive MVP honor after tallying a total of nine goals in the two tournament games.
  • Emma Moulton received the Defensive MVP award with five ground balls and five caused turnovers in the final game of the season.
  • Ronnie Davis was once again honored with the Coach of the Tournament.
  • Monroe's title run featured a dominant season where the Tribunes outscored their opponents 268-75 on the year.
  • Harford's Courtney Poole tallied nine goals and six assists throughout the tournament. The sophomore finished the season fifth in the nation with 77 points and 55 goals.
  • Urban led Harford offensively with four goals and one assist. Brooke Siebert stopped 17 total shots in net for the Fighting Owls.


NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?