Tyler's 2-0 win clinches fifth DI national title since 2009


TYLER, Texas – Claiming its fifth national title in eight seasons, Tyler (Texas) shutout Monroe College (N.Y.) 2-0 in Saturday’s NJCAA Division I Men’s Soccer Championship Match at Pat Hartley Soccer Complex.

  • Tyler’s first goal came in the 37th minute off the foot of Michael Boakye.
  • With five minutes remaining, a goal from Mohammed Kamara sealed the Apaches’ 2-0 victory. Kamara received tournament MVP honors after totaling three goals and an assist in the tournament.
  • Tyler’s defense held Monroe College without a single shot in the title match.
  • The Apaches’ five NJCAA DI men’s soccer titles (2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016) are fourth-most.
  • Boakye was joined by Tyler forward Yazeed Matthews on the all-tournament team.
  • Top-seeded Tyler advanced to the semifinal round out of Pool A with wins over No. 12-seed Hill (Texas) and No. 8-seed Trinidad State (Colo.).
  • Maintaining a perfect record, the Apaches close out their 2016 campaign with a 24-0-0 record.
  • Monroe College dropped to 19-1-0 after suffering its first loss of the season.

Photos courtesy of Tyler Athletics.

NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?