College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

Texan cross country dominates Libby Invitational
 September 9, 2013

ABILENE – The South Plains College Texan cross country team began their 2013 season in style Saturday morning, sweeping the top three spots and finishing with a team score of 16 points, one point from a perfect score in cross country.

Newcomers Antibahs Kibiwott, Jose Martinez, and Colton Hollis led the way for the Texans with a 1-2-3 sweep over the 8,000-meter course.

Hailing from Eldoret, Kenya, Kibiwott crossed the line with a time of 25 minutes, 41.64 seconds and was followed by native Texan Jose Martinez (Weslaco) and Colton Hollis (Texico, N.M.).  Martinez and Hollis finished with times of 25:57.29 and 26:14.61, respectively.

Cordaryl Whitehead (26:47.13) and Jacob Clark (26:49.99) rounded out the team scoring for the Texans with fifth and seventh place finishes.

Led by sophomore Desreen Montague’s 14th place finish, the Lady Texans finished fifth in the team standings with 113 points.  Freshman Atara Segree was 16th. 

Following the meet, head cross country coach Chris Beene was ecstatic about his team’s performances.

“I was really proud of everyone.  We competed well on both sides.”

The Texan and Lady Texan cross country teams return to action Friday, Sept. 13 when they compete at the Texas Tech Red Raider Open at Meadowbrook Golf Course in Lubbock. 

Texan Results (8,000 Meters)
1st Antibahs Kibiwott 25:41.64
2nd Jose Martinez  25:57.29
3rd Colton Hollis  26:14.61
5th Cordaryl Whitehead 26:47.13
7th Jacob Clark  26:49.99
9th Isaac Clark  26:51.52
13th Mike Waller  27:22.23
17th Marco Arias  28:05.29
19th Anderson Charles 28:07.58

Lady Texan Results (5,000 Meters)
14th Desreen Montague 20:16.04
16th  Atara Segree  20:24.52
24th J’Cee Holmes  20:49.58
28th Kaitlyn Henderson 21:04.97
31st  Brittany Letts  21:14.48
34th Maddie Kauffman 21:24.27
38th Sarah Peterson 21:41.16
57th Mariah Martinez 22:40.89

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy