College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

Walters State coach Gardner wins Dave Williams Award
 June 27, 2013

Matt Daniels, Walters State Sports Information

NORMAN, Okla. – The Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) in conjunction with diversified industrial manufacturer Eaton Corporation today announced the six outstanding collegiate golf coaches receiving the Dave Williams Award presented by Eaton Golf Pride as national coaches of the year. Eaton Golf Pride will present the coaches with their awards during the Hall of Fame Banquet at the GCAA Convention December 9.

Steve Desimone of California (Division I), Jimmy Stobs of Barry (Division II), King Campbell of UT Tyler (Division III), Kyle Blaser of Oklahoma City (NAIA), Dave Jennings of Central Alabama (NJCAA Division I) and Bill Gardner of Walters State (NJCAA Division II) earned coach of the year honors for 2013.

“I thought for a while that I had only won the East Award, but I suppose I got lucky and got the Dave Williams Award,” Gardner said. “I am shocked and flattered but more happy for the Walters State family, which are the players, AD’s, president and staff who supported us. This is really a team award, which I am only a part of. The Country Club, Millstone, Dandridge, Clinchview, Patriot Hills and Link Hills are a huge part of our success. These courses bend over backwards to help us, and we are most appreciative.”

Gardner led Walters State to its most successful season in program history. The golf team had a stellar season, as they never finished lower than seventh in any of the tournaments in which they played. The Senators won the Wingate Invitational and followed that up with a second place finish in the Berry College Spring Fling.

The Walters State golf team set a new program best with a second place finish in the NJCAA Division II National Tournament, ending the season on a run that saw them finish in the top two in their last three events. Brad Hawkins earned PING Second-Team All-America honors while Cody Johnson was named to the third team.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy