College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

South Plains wins seventh consecutive Men's Track & Field championship
 May 18, 2013


HUTCHINSON, Kan. – The South Plains College men’s track team tied for the second-longest run of national championships in NJCAA history on Saturday by capturing the 2013 NJCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships at Hutchinson Community College’s Gowans Stadium.

The Texans won title No. 6 with relative ease, outscoring national runner-up Iowa Central 140-103.

South Plains ties Barton CC (Kan.) – which ran seven-straight titles from 1998-2004 – for the second-most consecutive men’s national track titles. Blinn College (Texas) won nine-straight national championships from 1987-95.

The Texans used superior depth to win the 2013 national championship.

South Plains won four event championships on Saturday. Jovan Davis won the 400-meter hurdles and Jarvis Gotch won the long jump. The Texans also won the 4x100-meter relay and the 4x400-meter relay. The 4x400 meter relay’s time of 3:05.91 was a Gowans Stadium record.

South Plains scored multiple points in seven different events on Saturday, getting 11 points out of the 100 meters, 19 points from the 400 meters, 13 points from the 110 hurdles, 12 points in the long jump, seven in the high jump and five in the 800 meters.

Gotch was the only double-event winner by the Texans. He also ran a leg on the winning 4x100-meter relay.

Three other athletes were double-event winners during the Championships.

Western Texas’ Omar Johnson was named the Male Track Athlete of the Meet. He won the 200 and 400 meters and ran a leg on Western’s 4x400-meter relay team.

Pau Tonnesen was named the Male Field Athlete of the Meet. One day after winning the Decathlon for the second-straight year, Tonnesen added a national pole vault championship and eighth-place finish in the high jump.

Iowa Central’s Alex Deir won both the 3,000-meter steeplechase on Friday and added the 1,500 meters on Saturday.

2013 Awards
Team Champion – South Plains
Coach of the Meet – Chris Bean, South Plains
Male Field Athlete of the Meet – Pau Tonnesen, Mesa
Male Track Athlete of the Meet – Omar Johnson, Western Texas
National Coach of the Year – Pat Becher, Hutchinson
National Assistant Coach of the Year – Nic Adamson, Mesa

Photos by Stephanie Carpenter & Tyler Williams

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy