College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

Ten Buccaneers sign with four-year football programs
 February 7, 2013

Blinn sends players to Baylor, Hawaii, Texas Tech, North Texas

Ten Blinn College football players signed with four-year colleges across the country Wednesday.

Those players joined five members of the 2012 freshman class that signed with four-year programs after their freshman season and are already at the four-year university of their choice.

Old Dominion University signed a pair of Buccaneers in defensive back Jevon Neal (Austin McCallum) and offensive lineman Kyle Bottoms (Klein Collins). Wide receiver Vasquez Haynes (Westbury Christian) signed with the University of Hawaii, while strong safety/linebacker Mitch Villemez (Huffman-Hargrave) signed with Louisiana Tech and defensive end Ronald Fuller (Stafford) signed with Jackson State.

The rest of the Buccaneers opted to remain in-state. Offensive lineman Tyler Edwards (Malvern, Ark.) signed with Baylor University and kicker Kurt Walker (Hebron) signed with Texas Tech. Defensive back Tevin Broussard (Beaumont Central) signed with the University of Texas-San Antonio, while fellow defensive back Demetrius Woodard (Aldine MacArthur) signed with Texas State.

Offensive lineman Chance McCormack (Dayton) signed with Lamar University and tight end Chris Loving (Klein) signed with the University of North Texas.

“We were really proud to have those guys and they made a big contribution to Blinn football,” said head coach Ronny Feldman. “Blinn has always been a place where coaches from all over the country come to recruit, and we’re glad our players were able to find great fits to continue getting their education while playing football.”

The Buccaneers boast one of the most storied programs in the National Junior College Athletic Association with four national championships to their credit. Blinn was the first program in the nation to win back to back national championships in 1995 and 1996, then added titles in 2006 and 2009.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy