College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

News Archive

National News Archive

 February 7, 2013

HCC Sports Information

Nineteen members of the 2012 Salt City Bowl champion Hutchinson Community College football team announced where they will play next season at a signing ceremony in the Blue Dragon Room of the Parker Student Union on Wednesday, college football’s National Letter of Intent Day.

Five of the players made their announcements in person during the ceremony which was videostreamed live by the Blue Dragon Sports Network.

In Blue Dragon head coach Rion Rhoades six seasons with the program, this is the single-largest signing class he has had, including the most BCS signings by a single class.

With this year’s group, coach Rhoades has placed 51 Blue Dragons into NCAA Division I programs, including 23 into BCS programs. Rhoades has placed 107 HCC players into four-year programs, an average of 17.8 per season.

Eight members of the group signed with BCS programs, including three to Auburn University. Signing with the Tigers are linebacker Kenny Flowers (Lilburn, GA), offensive lineman Devonte Danzey (Tampa, FL) and defensive lineman Ben Bradley (Norcross, GA).

Other BCS signings by current Blue Dragon players are:

+ Linebacker Antonio Longino (East Cleveland, Ohio) – Arizona State University

+ Receiver/quarterback Kody Cook (Louisburg, KS – Kansas State University

+ Defensive end Demetrius Alston (Norcross, GA) – Texas Tech University

+ Kicker Michael Mesh (Hutchinson) – Kansas University

+ Linebacker DeVondre Campbell (Fort Myers, FL) – University of Minnesota

Longino is the first Blue Dragon ever to sign with Arizona State. Campbell is the first Blue Dragon to sign with Minnesota since 1997 and HCC sent a trio of players to the Gophers.

Those Blue Dragons signing with non-BCS programs are:

+ Running back Terrell Lane (Norton) – East Carolina University

+ Wide receiver Antonio Johnson (Oklahoma City, OK) – Troy University

+ Cornerback Keion Payne (Fort Lauderdale, FL) – Troy University

+ Offensive lineman Solomon Normore (Wichita) – University of New Mexico

+ Defensive tackle Robbie Zimmerman (Sumter, SC) – University of Toledo

Those signing with FCS programs are:

+ Reciever Miguel Johns (Newton) – Indiana State University

Those signing with NCAA Division II/NAIA programs are:

+ Tight end Connor Thierolf (Marion) – Emporia State University

+ Fullback Braden Eck (Garden Plain) – Fort Hays State University

+ Defensive end Adrian Mack (Waycross, GA) – University of Central Oklahoma

+ Running back LaQua Mayes (Rose Hill) – Presbyterian College

+ Offensive lineman Williams Thacker (Hutchinson) – McPherson College

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy