College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

No. 11-seed Jones County goes distance for Men's Basketball crown
 March 22, 2014


HUTCHINSON, Kan. – Jones County (Miss.) made history Saturday, winning the NJCAA men’s basketball national championship with an 87-77 win over Indian Hills (Iowa). Entering the tournament as the No. 11 seed, the Bobcats defeated the tournament’s top three teams and became the lowest-seeded team at any level of NJCAA basketball to win a national title.

Recording a double-double, Bobcats forward Leroy Fludd led the upset of the top-seeded Warriors with a team-high 20 points and a game-high 13 rebounds. Earning tournament MVP honors, the freshman knocked down 6-of-13 shots from the field and was 8-for-12 from the free throw line. Jones County freshman guard Bryce Jones (right) directed the offensive attack with a game-high six assists and picked away four steals on the defensive end of the floor.

Despite turning the ball over 24 times, Jones County shot 46 percent from the field – hitting 29-of-63 field goal attempts – and dominated the boards with a 52-38 rebounding advantage. The Bobcats defense smothered Indian Hills, holding the Warriors to a 35.1 shooting percentage.

The Bobcats went on a run in the final minutes of the first half to take a 46-33 lead into the break. The Warriors fought back in the second half – outscoring Jones County 44-41 – but ran out of gas down the stretch.

Winning five games in five days, Jones County began their run to the title with a tight 81-79 victory over No. 22-seed Highland (Ill.) in the first round. In the second round, the Bobcats pulled out a 91-82 win over No. 6-seed Hill (Texas) before hitting their stride with an 86-79 victory over No. 3-seed Chipola (Fla.) in Thursday’s quarterfinals. In the semifinals, Jones County took care of No. 2-seed Vincennes (Ind.), 76-63.

The Bobcats’ five victories in the national tournament capped off their 2013-14 season with eight-straight victories and a 28-5 overall record. Having lost only two games all season – one due to forfeit – Indian Hills fell to 34-3 on the season with the defeat.

William B. French Most Valuable Player
Leroy Fludd () – Jones County

Coach of the Tournament
Jay Ladner – Jones County

Bud Obee Outstanding Small Player
Lester Medford (G) – Indian Hills

All-Tournament Team
Sam Cassell Jr. (G) – Chipola
T.J. Dunans (G) – Columbia State
Devin Foster (G) – Vincennes
Jordan Goodman (F) – Harcum
Lester Medford (G) – Indian Hills
Jeff Newberry (G) – New Mexico JC
Roosevelt Scott (G) – Indian Hills
Andre Spight (G) – South Plains
Joe Thomasson (G) – State Fair
Ivan Uceda (C) – Harcum
Willie Wiley (F) – Vincennes
Johnny Zuppardo (F) – Jones County  

Sesher Sportsmanship Award
Ibn Mohammad (G) – Harcum 

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy