College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

IRSC Hosts the 2014 NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships in Fort Pierce
 February 24, 2014

Indian River Looks to Extend Longest-Held National Winning Streak to 40 Wins

Event Schedule -- Link to LIVE Results

Indian River State College is hosting the 2014 National Junior College Athletic Association Swimming and Diving National Championships in Fort Pierce at the IRSC Ann Wilder Aquatic Complex beginning Wednesday, March 5 through Saturday, March 8.

The IRSC Swimming and Diving teams are preparing to compete for the chance to extend their amazing winning streak to 40 consecutive men’s swimming titles. The women’s team looks to extend their number of consecutive titles to 32. Spectator admission to the event is $5 per session or $30 for an all-session pass.

More than sixteen college swim teams from around the country will be vying for wins and for the NJCAA Championship title, as they swim in competitions including the 500 Freestyle, 400 Medley Relay, 200 Freestyle Relay, 1M and 3M Diving. Each day swimming preliminaries will start at 10 a.m. Diving will start around 1 p.m., and all swimming finals will begin at 6 p.m. The event will be webcast online and meet results will also be available at irsc.edu. Individuals will also have the ability to watch live stats via their cell phone on the MEET MOBILE application. The app is free when downloaded and then the user can follow the action of the events.

The Swimming and Diving Teams will be led by new Head Coach Sion Brinn for the first time this season. With 39 consecutive wins, IRSC currently holds title to the longest unbroken U.S. championship winning streak in any sport at the collegiate level. This record includes wins at the 2013 National Championship Swim Meet hosted by Erie Community College in Buffalo, New York. At the meet, the IRSC Men’s Team secured its 39th straight National Swimming and Diving Championship title. The women’s team brought home their 35th overall title and extended their consecutive titles to 31.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy