College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

Cowley County edges Parkland for DII volleyball championship
 November 23, 2013


Release courtesy of Nicholas Huenefeld, Owens CC Sports Information Director -- Photos from Studio 316

Down 9-3 and 10-6 in the fifth set, No. 1 Cowley County (Kan.) stormed back to capture the NJCAA Division II Volleyball Championship over No. 2 Parkland (Ill.) tonight on the campus of Owens Community College (Ohio) 25-21, 23-25, 25-16, 21-25, 16-14.

Parkland battled and held championship point, 14-13 in the deciding fifth set, but served a ball into the net. Cowley County took advantage and won the ensuing two points, setting off a wild celebration.

The title gives the Tigers two of the last three national championships - all held at OCC outside Toledo. 

BJ Specht of Cowley County was named Tournament MVP, while head coach Jennifer Bahner was named the NJCAA DII Coach of the Year for the second time in three years. Jessica McDougald of the Tigers was also named to the All-Tournament team.

On Parkland's side, Cori Vanbeek and Teigan Flaws earned post-tournament honors. 

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy