College Login:


  Follow NJCAA on Facebook  Follow NJCAA on Twitter

National |
News Archive

National News

New Era of NJCAA DI Men's Basketball Championship Begins with At-Large Teams & Seeded Bracket
 March 11, 2013

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – For the first time in the 66-year history of NJCAA men’s basketball, its premier championship event will feature 24 teams in a fully seeded bracket. In addition to 16 district champions, the 2013 NJCAA Division I Basketball Championship Tournament will also feature four ‘zone’ qualifiers and four at-large teams for the first time in the event’s  history. 

The official bracket has been released (click here) with seeding and at-large selections. Games begin Monday, March 18th at the Sports Arena in Hutchinson, Kan. The title game will take place on Saturday, March 23rd.

Additional tournament information on tickets, hotels, and more can be found at www.njcaabbtrny.org. All tournament games will be aired live on NJCAA TV.

The 2013 tournament is the 65th-consecutive year the event has been held in the great city of Hutchinson, Kan. This year also marks the 75th Anniversary of the NJCAA. The special relationship between Hutchinson and the NJCAA was highlighted earlier this year in an article entitled, ”THERE’S NO PLACE LIKE ‘HUTCH’” – part of the NJCAA 75th Anniversary Feature Series.

NOTE: At-large selections made by the NJCAA DI Men’s Basketball At-Large Selection Committee. Seeding was compiled by the NJCAA DI Men’s Basketball Committee.


#1 Iowa Western CC (31-2) – District 11 Champion
#2 Spartanburg Methodist College, S.C. (32-0) - District 10 Champion
#3 College of Central Florida (30-3) - District 8 Champion
#4 Hutchinson CC, Kan. (31-3) - District 6 Champion
#5 Vincennes Univ., Ind. (31-2) - District 16 Champion
#6 Central Arizona College (29-4) - District 1 Champion
#7 East Georgia College (30-2) - District 13 Champion
#8 New Mexico JC (27-6) - District 5 Champion
#9 Northwest Florida State College (26-3) – At-Large
#10 Coffeyville CC, Kan. (31-2) – At-Large
#11 Salt Lake CC, Utah (28-4) – At-Large
#12 Hagerstown CC, Md. (29-4) - District 3 Champion
#13 Howard College, Texas (28-5) – At-Large
#14 Motlow State CC, Tenn. (25-3) – District 7 Champion
#15 Kilgore College, Texas (26-4) – District 14 Zone Entry
#16 North Platte CC, Neb. (29-5) – District 9 Champion
#17 Mineral Area College, Mo. (26-7) – District 4 Champion
#18 Shelton State CC, Ala. (25-8) – District 12 Champion
#19 Connors State College, Okla. (24-8) – District 2 Zone Entry
#20 East Mississippi CC (20-7) – District 15 Champion
#21 Lee College, Texas (24-10) – District 14 Champion
#22 Eastern Oklahoma State College (19-15) – District 2 Champion
#23 Walters State CC, Tenn. (17-16) – District 7 Zone Entry
#24 USC Salkehatchie, S.C. (15-17) – District 10 Zone Entry

About the NJCAA 
Since 1938 the National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) has been the governing body of two-year college athletics, offering athletic and academic opportunities to college students. Now entering its 75th anniversary, the NJCAA is the second largest national intercollegiate athletic organization in the United States with over 500 member schools in 43 states. Each year 60,000 student-athletes compete in one of 28 different sports and the organization sponsors 48 national championship events and nine football bowl games. NJCAA Headquarters has been located in Colorado Springs, Colo., since 1985. For more information visit www.njcaa.org.

© 2015 National Junior College Athletic Association - All Rights Reserved - About - Contact - Privacy Policy