Lea Plarski Award

Created in 1995, the Lea Plarski Award is presented annually to an NJCAA student-athlete who exemplifies sportsmanship, leadership, community service, academic excellence and athletic ability. The honor is named after former NJCAA Lea Plarski in recognition of her tremendous service to the association. The former director of athletics at St. Louis Community College - Florissant Valley (MO), Plarski was instrumental in establishing the Women's Division of the NJCAA in 1975 - the first national collegiate athletic organization to develop such a structure. She served as Vice President of the NJCAA Women's Division from 1975-90. In 1990 she was tabbed as NJCAA President, becoming the first woman to hold the top elected position in the association. Known for her tireless dedication to student-athletes, the Lea Plarski Award honors her numerous accomplishments and service to the NJCAA.

  2017-18 Josh Harper Baseball Central Florida  
  2016-17 Courtney Calkins Softball Iowa Lakes  
  2015-16 Cassie Kuizin Softball Heartland (IL)  
  2014-15 Kendyl McDougald Women's Track & Field Johnson County (KS)  
  2013-14 Chris Blanton Baseball Lake-Sumter State (FL)  
  2012-13 Sierra Downs Women's Cross Country Mercer County (NJ)  
  2011-12 Cassie Dumoulin Women's Basketball Elgin (IL)  
  2010-11 Abby Barnett Women's Cross Country Bevill State (AL)  
  2009-10 Jacelyn Fisher Women's Tennis SUNY Adirondack (NY)  
  2008-09 Geofrey Kalanzi Men’s Soccer Dakota County Tech (MN)  
  2007-08 Christopher Glaze Baseball Jones County (MS)  
  2006-07 Angela Verbeelen Softball Florida State-Jacksonville  
  2005-06 Patrick Lepper Men's Basketball John Wood (IL)  
  2004-05 Kayla Shaul  Women's Golf  Daytona State (FL)   
  2003-04 Theresa Berry Volleyball  Bevill State-Fayette (AL)   
  2002-03 Melanie Mendrop Women's Soccer  Hinds (MS)  
  2001-02 Jermaine Harris  Football  Georgia Military   
  2000-01 Mindy Madewell  Women's Basketball  Connors State (OK)  
  1999-00 Larry Scheller  Men's Soccer  Belleville Area (IL)   
  1998-99 Sarah Wood Women's Soccer  St. Louis-Meramec (MO)   
  1997-98 Douglas Bates Baseball  Pensacola State (FL)   
    Terra Sarnacki-Royer  Women's XC/T&F/HM  SUNY Cobleskill (NY)   
  1996-97 George Russell Sanders Football  Jones County (MS)  
    Amy Lucas Women's Tennis  Middle Georgia State   
  1995-96 John Combs  Men's Basketball  Lees (KY)   
    Amy Parker  Women's Basketball/Softball  Jones County (MS)  

NJCAA Admin Login X

Forgot Your Password?